How To Clear Passwords On Chrome

In this post, you can know about How To Clear Passwords On Chrome easily. Google Chrome has a very handy feature that allows it to remember your username and password for any website you choose.

However, there are situations where you may not want Google to remember a given password. Perhaps you made a new account for that website, and Google automatically logging you into your old account is no longer helpful.

Table of Contents

Deleting All Passwords the Easy Way

Unless you pause tracking, Google Chrome holds your browsing data such as your history, cookies, and passwords that you allow it to save. You can remove all this data in a few simple steps.

  • Open Google Chrome.
  • Click on the three vertical dots in the upper right-hand corner and click on ‘More Tools.’ In the window that appears, click on ‘Clear Browsing Data.’
More Tools in Chrome
  • Go to the Advanced
Advanced Option in Chrome
  • Make sure that the timeframe is set to All time.
  • Click on the checkbox next to Passwords, along with all other data you want to remove.
Passwords and Sign in Data
  • Click Clear Data to delete all passwords and selected data.
Clear Data on Chrome

This shouldn’t take more than a couple of minutes.

If you can’t access the Clear browsing data window using the hotkeys, you can do it manually by typing chrome://history into the address bar and select Clear browsing data, and then follow steps 3-6 in the above tutorial.

Chrome History

This will delete all your passwords permanently, so you’ll be asked to enter the login data when you try to log into a website, after which Chrome will once again ask you if you want to save the password.

If you’d like to tell Chrome to forget about this, there’s an easy way to do so.

Delete All Passwords On Your Google Account

Deleting all of your saved passwords from Chrome is one thing, but you can also delete them all from your Google Accounts too. All you need to do is open up Google Chrome and make sure you’re signed in (click the profile icon in the upper right-hand corner), and follow these steps:

  • Click on the three vertical dots in the upper right-hand corner. Then click ‘Settings.’
  • Then click on Autofill on the right-hand side. Next, click on ‘Passwords.’
Autofill Passwords
  • Now, click on the blue hyperlink ‘Google Account.’
Google Account
  • A new window will open. You can choose to export your passwords, or you can click on the Settings cog in the upper right-hand corner and select the ‘X’ next to each password you’d like to delete.
Password Manager

If you have multiple Google accounts, you may need to follow these steps for each account. To keep your passwords from saving, follow the steps in the next section.

Preventing Google Chrome from Prompting to Save Passwords

If you’re annoyed by the pop-up window that shows up every time you try to log into a new website, you can turn this option off within Google Chrome’s settings. Here’s what you have to do:

  • Open Google Chrome.
  • Click on the three-dot menu in the top-right corner of the window.
  • Click on ‘Autofill’ in the left-hand menu.
  • Scroll down slightly and click on ‘Passwords
  • Toggle the option for ‘Offer to save passwords’ off.
Save Passwords Off

After you do this, Chrome will no longer ask you to save passwords. If you change your mind, you can always toggle this option back on.

Leave a Reply