How To Reset My Google Chrome

Right here, you can know about How To Reset My Google Chrome easily. If your Google Chrome browser starts to act slow, or displays unwanted advertisements, resetting it to the default settings can help.

The reset feature fixes many issues by restoring Chrome to its factory default state while saving your essential information like bookmarks and open tabs.

Table of Contents

Reset Google Chrome for Windows

To reset Google Chrome for Windows back to its default settings, follow these steps:

  • Click the menu icon, then click on “Settings”.
    • Click on Chrome’s menu button, represented by three horizontal lines. When the drop-down menu appears, select the option labeled Settings.
Google Settings
  • Click “Advanced”.
    • Chrome’s “Settings” should now be displayed in a new tab or window, depending on your configuration. Next, scroll to the bottom of the page and click on the “Advanced” link.
Advanced Option on Google
  • Click “Reset settings to their original defaults”.
    • Scroll down until the “Reset and clean up” section is visible, as shown in the example below. Click on Reset settings to their original defaults.
Reset settings
  • Click “Reset Settings”.
    • A confirmation dialog should now be displayed, detailing the components that will be restored to their default state should you continue on with the reset process. To complete the restoration process, click on the “Reset Settings” button.
Click Reset Settings

That’s it! Your Google Chrome browser settings are back to their defaults. Great job!

Reset Google Chrome for Mac

To reset Google Chrome for Windows back to its default settings, follow these steps:

  • Open Chrome’s “Settings” menu.
    • Click on Chrome’s main menu button, represented by three horizontal lines. When the drop-down menu appears, select the option labeled Settings.
Mac Settings
  • At the bottom, click “Advanced”.
    • Chrome’s “Settings” should now be displayed in a new tab or window, depending on your configuration. Next, scroll to the bottom of the page and click on the “Advanced” link (as seen in the below example).
Advanced option on Mac
  • Under the section “Reset,” click “Reset”.
    • Chrome’s advanced settings should now be displayed. Scroll down until the “Reset and clean up” section is visible, as shown in the example below. Next, click on the “Reset settings to their original defaults” button.
Reset settings to their original defaults
  • Confirm by clicking “Reset”.
    • A confirmation dialog should now be displayed, detailing the components that will be restored to their default state should you continue on with the reset process. To complete the restoration process, click on the “Reset Settings” button.
Reset Settings on Mac

That’s it! Your Google Chrome browser settings are back to their defaults. Great job!

Deleting All Passwords In Google Chrome

Unless you pause tracking, Google Chrome holds your browsing data such as your history, cookies, and passwords that you allow it to save. You can remove all this data in a few simple steps.

  • Open Google Chrome.
  • Click on the three vertical dots in the upper right-hand corner and click on ‘More Tools.’ In the window that appears, click on ‘Clear Browsing Data.’
More Tools in Chrome
  • Go to the Advanced
Advanced Option in Chrome
  • Make sure that the timeframe is set to All time.
  • Click on the checkbox next to Passwords, along with all other data you want to remove.
Passwords and Sign in Data
  • Click Clear Data to delete all passwords and selected data.
Clear Data on Chrome

This shouldn’t take more than a couple of minutes.

If you can’t access the Clear browsing data window using the hotkeys, you can do it manually by typing chrome://history into the address bar and select Clear browsing data, and then follow steps 3-6 in the above tutorial.

Chrome History

This will delete all your passwords permanently, so you’ll be asked to enter the login data when you try to log into a website, after which Chrome will once again ask you if you want to save the password.

If you’d like to tell Chrome to forget about this, there’s an easy way to do so.

Leave a Reply